Professor of Structural Analysis and Dynamics

TU Braunschweig


The Department of Architecture, Civil Engineering and Environmental Sciences is seeking to appoint a

W3 Professor in

Structural Analysis and Dynamics“ (m/f/d)


to start on April 1st 2021.


The institute is traditionally being active in fundamental research addressing, among other things, computer-aided structural analysis under static and dynamic effects as well as numerical simulation methods and analytical models for application to civil engineering structures. This also includes complex, hybrid systems involving different processes such as aging of building materials and structures. An interdisciplinary view toward technical and economic aspects of performance of civil engineering structures is possible through cooperation with the testing facilities located in the direct vicinity.


In addition to basics of beam and shell structures, teaching should focus on principles and theoretical concepts of finite element methods and structural dynamics. Here, the importance of the institute in regard to the institutes of mechanics and other institutes of structural engineering as well as an active participation in the international master course programme “Computational Sciences in Engineering” must be taken into account.


Requirements comprise proof of experience in acquisition and accomplishment of complex research projects or practical projects in the field of structural analysis, special interest in the further development of the institute and dedication for national and international cooperation and interdisciplinary work in the core research area “Future City” of the TU Braunschweig.


The requirements of the position are defined in Section 25 of the Lower Saxony Higher Education Act (Niedersächsisches Hochschulgesetz).


With nearly 20,000 students and 3,700 staff members, Technische Universität Braunschweig is the largest Institute of Technology in Northern Germany. It stands for a strategic and achievement-oriented way of thinking and acting, relevant research, exceptional teaching and the successful transfer of knowledge and technologies to industry and society. We consistently advocate family friendliness and equal opportunities.


We focus our research on mobility, infections and therapeutics, metrology, and future city. Our core disciplines include a comprehensive engineering branch and a strong natural sciences branch, closely linked with business sciences, social sciences, humanities and educational sciences.


Our campus is located at the heart of one of Europe’s most active research regions. We cooperate closely and successfully with more than 20 research institutions right on our doorstep and maintain strong relationships with our partner universities all over the world.


At TU Braunschweig, we aim to increase the share of women in academic positions and therefore particularly welcome applications from women. Where candidates have equivalent qualifications, preference will be given to female candidates. Applications from international scientists are welcome. A part-time appointment may be possible on request.


Applicants who are 50 years or older at the time the appointment commences and who have not acquired permanent civil servant status (Beamtenverhältnis auf Lebenszeit) will be employed with employee status (Angestelltenverhältnis). Where candidates have the same qualifications, preference will be given to disabled candidates.


For more information, please contact the chair of the Appointments Committee, Prof. Dr.-Ing. Martin Empelmann, Tel. +49 (0) 531 391-5409.


Please submit your written application to the Dean of the Faculty of Architecture, Civil Engineering and Environmental Sciences, Prof. Dr.-Ing. Bernhard FriedrichKatharinenstr. 3, 38106 Braunschweig to arrive by March 31st 2020. In addition the same documents should be uploaded as password-protected PDF archive file. Please follow the link:

Bitte beziehen Sie sich in Ihrer Bewerbung auf

Bewerbung Alle Stellen

Ludwig Maximilians Universität München

Pädagogische Hochschule Bern

Rheinisch Westfalische Technische Hochschule Aachen

Ruprecht Karls Universität Heidelberg

Universität Innsbruck

Universität Luzern

Universität Passau

Universität Potsdam

Universität Rostock

Universität Salzburg

Universität zu Köln

Universität Zürich