Assistant Professorship in Theoretical Particle Physics and Cosmology

Universität Basel


Assistant Professorship in Theoretical Particle Physics and Cosmology

The Department of Physics at the University of Basel invites applications for a tenure-track faculty position
at the rank of an assistant professor, in the areas of theoretical particle physics and/or cosmology.
Your position: The successful candidate will be expected to conduct an excellent research program and
contribute to teaching activities at all levels, including particle physics at the undergraduate level.
Your profile: We are looking for an outstanding theorist with proven expertise in theoretical particle physics
and/or cosmology. The requirements include a PhD degree in physics or equivalent, experience in research
and publications in leading journals in the fields. Synergies between the candidate's research plans and
existing activities at the Department are advantageous.

We offer you: The Department of Physics at the University of Basel offers an international environment for
top-level research in the fields of nano and quantum physics as well as cosmology and particle physics. The
University of Basel is an equal opportunity and family friendly employer committed to excellence through

Application / Contact: Please submit the application documents addressed to Prof. Dr. Marcel Mayor,
Dean, Faculty of Science, University of Basel, Klingelbergstrasse 50, 4056 Basel, Switzerland including a
short letter of motivation, a curriculum vitae, a publication list, and a statement of research and teaching
interests at Candidates should arrange for three to five
reference letters to be submitted to this site. Applications completed by 30 September 2021 will receive full
consideration. Applications from women are particularly welcome.

For informal inquiries please contact the Chair of the Department, Prof. Martino Poggio
(, or Prof. Stefan Antusch (Stefan.

Bitte beziehen Sie sich in Ihrer Bewerbung auf


Ludwig Maximilians Universität München

Pädagogische Hochschule Bern

Rheinisch Westfalische Technische Hochschule Aachen

Ruprecht Karls Universität Heidelberg

Universität Innsbruck

Universität Luzern

Universität Passau

Universität Potsdam

Universität Rostock

Universität Wien

Universität Zürich

Universität zu Köln